My Bête Noire and Drowning in a Sea of Relative Clauses: Saturday 28th May

I awoke this morning to dreary weather that insisted on remaining throughout the day. However, I decided to head out for a run about midday, determined not to be beaten by the rain, which had now subsided to a medium drizzle. Of course I should have known better. Had I have gone out when I woke up then yes I would have got soaked, but the streets would have at least been empty. Instead I got soaked (the medium drizzle choosing to escalate at the exact moment I had actually begun my run) and had to contend with streets packed with my personal bête noire: Japanese people with umbrellas. I almost lost an eye on no less than seven separate occasions, and at one particularly tight junction I was forced onto a busy road by a gaggle of gossiping ladies. I say ladies, but anyone displaying such a gross lack of umbrella etiquette is hardly deserving of the term.

Just look at them all, lurking, waiting for me to drop my guard. Winking at me, as the rain bounces off their metal arms and blackened souls.

This evening I went for dinner with my friend Rie at a Thai restaurant in Shibuya. The food was absolutely delicious, and more than made up for having to traverse the Saturday night traffic of Shibuya, which on a rainy evening is about as much fun as drowning in a sea of relative clauses and transitive verbs. And I have quite enough of that during the rest of the week.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

