A House of Hope and Hardly the Most Masculine of Names: Wednesday 1st June

Today one of our regular teachers was ill, and so we had a substitute; who whilst being an excellent teacher, insisted on us answering her questions using long sentences. The result of which being that I spent most of the day cowering in my seat, oppressed by my continued inability to grasp relative clauses. Under the circumstances it is hardly surprising that I referred to a maze-like structure as being like a house of hope  (nozomi), rather than a mouse’s (nezumi) abode.

Good old-fashioned manga: death, famine, pestilence, and not a lady detective in sight!

After realising that the manga that Rie had so kindly lent me was effectively a set of girl’s detective novels, I decided that I needed something a little more enticing to get to grips with. Call me sexist, but the adventures of a female sleuth didn’t seem to warrant the months of reading and pain that would be required of me. Thankfully ‘Craig’s List’ was on hand to help, and I managed to find a complete set of the series ‘Death Note’ (That’s more like it!) for only ¥1000 (about £7.50). When I arrived at Ikebukuro station I couldn’t find the ‘White Caucasian’ that I was supposed to be looking for, and so wondered around aimlessly for a while, until a girl in her mid-twenties approached me carrying a stack of comics. I told her that I had been expecting a man, which seemed to offend her slightly. Unsurprising really, as Noemi is hardly the most masculine of names now is it.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

