A Temporary Sun and Breaking the Bank: Monday 6th June

There was a reasonably pleasant surprise in stall for me today at school: I wasn’t to be the purveyor of the biggest gaff of the day. Instead, that ‘honor’ fell to my Taiwanese neighbor, who told us all that: ‘The sun exists as an entity between the morning and the early evening’. Sadly I didn’t quite have the vocabulary in my arsenal to question what happened to the planet’s orbits when the sun was in a temporary state of non-existence.

This informative graffiti was on a wall near my house, always helps to know exactly where you are.

Having found a yoga mat on Craig’s list for a mere ¥500, I decided to snap it up, only to find out that the payment method was via the dreaded furikomi (bank transfer). After ‘using’ the ATM for a good ten minutes or so, the only thing that was being transferred was the goodwill of the people in the queue that was rapidly forming behind me, and so I decided to ask for help. Thankfully the lady in the bank showed me exactly what I needed to do, although she seemed surprisingly unperturbed when I attempted to transfer ¥5,000,000 (~£38,000).  Thankfully I realized my mistake so no harm was done and, as an added bonus, when I got outside the sun was still there.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

