A Constant Soaking and Freeloading Tenants: Saturday 11th June

Today I discovered another joy of the Japanese weather, an inability to actually dry oneself after a shower. The ‘spaciousness’ of my flat, combined with the sweat that was seeping through my pores after going for a run in 88% humidity, meant that my perspiration could not actually evaporate. However, my body’s cooling system was by now operating in autopilot, and continued to ‘helpfully’ produce sweat in an effort to keep my body running at its normal temperature (about 10 degrees below absolute zero), the result being that I had to use every absorbent cloth-based object I could find in an effort to stay dry. Thankfully I managed to stem the tide before I really got desperate, but I intend to stock up on kitchen paper and dishcloths for the coming months.

It's 22:00 on a Saturday night, and the guys dressed as thunderbirds are receiving traffic- control training, the lucky devils.

Living by myself can sometimes get a little bit lonely, which is why I am so grateful for the number of house guests that I have had to stay over the past week. As well as dead cockroaches and mosquitos, today I discovered that I had apparently sub-let my bathroom sink to a small family of spiders. I have no recollection of this arrangement, but decided that the extra income could prove useful. Needless to say, as soon as I found out that they were freeloading I packed them off to stay with their uncle, Incy Wincy. Bleach should make sure that he fails to make an appearance.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Constant Soaking and Freeloading Tenants: Saturday 11th June

  1. Rabbit says:

    Here’s the trick, which incidentally, works better in small apartment.

    When returning home from the run, turn the aircon on full blast. Then take your (quick) shower, finishing with cold water, which should help to bring your body temp down and stop further sweat production. Dry off in the main room (which is where I suppose your aircon is). By now, because you live in a small place, the room should be low 20s with 50% humidity. As soon as your are dry, turn the aircon off and switch to a fan, if still needed.

    Total aircon time will probably be 10 – 15 minutes. I know we’re saving power this summer, but consider this compensation for not using hair dryer time to perfect your Lion-o chimpira hairdo.

Leave a Reply

