Sardonic applause and Buffet Bans: Monday 13th June

Today in class I amazed myself by giving a reasonably proficient explanation of how a katami (memento from the deceased) differed from an omoide no mono (object of memorable significance). The reason that I know my explanation must have been reasonably proficient, was because it was met with applause from two of the Taiwanese students, although in hindsight this was almost certainly sardonic.

Taken in the foyer of the FCCJ: proof that the recession had obviously hit the proofreading industry harder than was first anticipated.

This evening I attended a dinner and talk at The Foreign Correspondents’ Club of Japan (FCCJ). The talk was about Lafcadio Hearn, an eminent collector of Japanese traditional stories from around the turn of the 20th century. Going into the talk I knew absolutely nothing about this quite remarkable individual, but for only ¥2000 I was treated to one of the most fascinating talks that I have listened to in a long time; some excellent company; and of course about ¥4000 worth of food. Surely it can’t be long before I am banned from all buffet style events in the greater Tokyo region. At least I was dressed appropriately; a step in the right direction from similar past events.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

