Role Play and Ritual Humiliation: Wednesday 15th June

Today in school we dealt with a slightly lighter topic than a women’s dead husband, choosing instead to focus on how from outer space the constant warring of nations and man’s supposed difficulties appear trivial and insignificant. It is amazing to think that this level of Japanese is being used in the classroom whilst I try in vein to remember the adjective for soft (yawarakai). Next week we have an end of unit test (which must be passed in order to progress to the next level), the speaking element of which has a Role Playing section. Providing that the role I am asked to play is that of a clueless Gaijin, who has only just understood what is meant by a Volitional verb (kind-of), then I’ll be fine. Otherwise I am pretty certain that my ineptitude will be observable even from space.

I'm not sure that ponder is quite the right verb to be used here.

Today marked one of my favourite times of the month: rent day, or as I like to call it ‘ritual humiliation day’. You would have thought that given my length of time spent living in Japan (almost 10 months), as well as the sample paying-in slip that was so kindly provided to me, that I would be beyond error; well you would be wrong. Today, a slightly off-kilter character meant that I had to start the whole thing from scratch, loosing my place in the queue in the process. At least they were showing some Japanese TV, as my inability to understand even a basic romantic drama did wonders for my temperament.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Role Play and Ritual Humiliation: Wednesday 15th June

  1. Mike says:

    I used to have some serious “Don’t talk to me in Japanese” days… it goes in phases.

    • truehamlet says:

      I think my problem is more along the lines of having other people thinking ‘Please don’t speak to me in Japanese’, especially my teacher, bless her. 🙂

Leave a Reply

