A Coughing Chant and a Mini Fire-Hazard: Saturday 18th June

Today’s yoga class began with some chanting by the Sensei, and having thought that we were being asked to join in, I filled up my lungs and gave it my best shot. She had of course said nothing of the sort, and so I was left in the rather delicate situation of trying to disguise my ‘chant’ as a cough. This seemed to work, but for the rest of the lesson the Sensei kept on stressing the importance of not over-exerting oneself to a state of unease. I’m pretty sure that she was talking to me, but I had decided that keeping my own council was the best way of ensuring that none of the other students feel themselves being over-exerted to a state of unease.

 

Damage Limitation.

This evening Akira and I went for Okonomiyaki in Shomokitazawa. As is always the case with Akira I had a great night, and managed the whole evening using only Japanese. It did wonders for my rapidly depleting confidence, even if there were at least a couple of occasions when I am sure that Akira was just pretending that I was speaking coherently. The highlight of the evening was when Akira attempted to cook something on the hotplate, only to spill the ingredients everywhere, creating a mini fire-hazard, which resulted in the head chef coming to our rescue. I was just amazed that for once I was blameless; although my shrieks of laughter were not probably not very much appreciated.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

