A Mutinous Air Con and a Strange Sweaty Smell: Wednesday 22nd June

Last night the humidity in my apartment forced me to keep getting up to drink water, which because of my bladder’s inability to hold more than a thimbleful of liquid, meant that these awakenings were also interspaced with enforced trips to the toilet. Eventually I admitted defeat and turned on the air conditioning unit, a contraption that is about as reliable as the Battleship Potemkin, and twice as loud! Still, at least I had some company during these early morning sojourns, as someone seems to have told the entire mosquito population of Tokyo that I have opened an exclusive blood bank.

£7.50 for a Watermelon?!? I think not.

This evening I was in my local park doing some exercise, when a random man came and sat on the bench that I was using. I asked him if he minded if I continued with my work-out, and apologized for my slightly strange sweaty smell, however I got slightly confused in my use of the passive form, and so actually apologized for his slightly strange sweaty smell. After this auspicious introduction we ended up having quite a long conversation, eventually getting onto the topic of aesthetic dialectics, and the 19th century German scholar Karl Wilhelm Ferdinand Solger (seriously). With any luck that particular topic will come up in tomorrow’s speaking test.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

