A Fatal Allergy to Cats and Yogic Training Wheels: Thursday 23rd June

This morning I had my speaking test, and it didn’t go as badly as it could have done, although I did give the advice that upon arriving in England, one should try one’s best to find a family-like object to eat dinner with. Also, my description of the game ‘Charades’ left a lot to be desired, with my teacher asking me why people would want to play such a game, if it always resulted in such needless violence. She seemed rather more impressed the role-playing element of the test, where I politely declined an invitation, owing to my fatal allergy of cats; although in fairness, she was probably just relieved that I wouldn’t be coming to her house, even it was just a fictional party.

When I asked the man in the shop if this was strong, he told me that it was virtually indestructible. I didn't have the heart to tell him that I was referring to its capacity to produce cool air.

This evening I had planned to go to Yoga with Rie, however due to work commitments she couldn’t make it, and so I had to go by myself. As tonight was the non-beginners class, I was slightly apprehensive, but as usual my Sensei was a beacon of patience and perseverance. I still don’t think that she believes that I really am as stiff as I say I am, but when she adjusted my line during one ‘easy’ pose, it took every reserve of my will not to scream out that I felt like my leg was snapping in two. Eventually she conceded defeat, and presented me with a ‘Yoga block’: the yogic equivalent of training wheels. By the end of the session we were both exhausted, although for very different reasons.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

