Hitching and Inappropriate Questions: Saturday 25th June

Today marked the beginning of a week’s holiday from school, and so I decided to hitchhike to Kyushu, the most South Westerly of Japan’s four main islands, and at approximately 1100km from Tokyo, it was certainly going to be a challenge. At my first hitching point I was informed that I was on the wrong side of the motorway, not the best of starts, but things soon get better as I managed to get a ride all the way from Tokyo to Kyoto (about 450km and 5 hours) with the same family, who also bought me lunch, and insisted that I meet up with them when I return to Tokyo; in all honesty I couldn’t have asked for a better start.

20110626-080827.jpg

How could you refuse this?

From Kyoto it was a little harder going, and it took an age to get just past Kobe (about 75 km from Kyoto). However I was then picked up by an elderly couple, who bought me dinner, and put my advertised claims of an ‘Englishman who can speak Japanese’ to the test, with a series of questions that made my recent listening exam seem like a treat. At one point they told me that they had been somewhere before they picked me up. Not recognising the word, I asked if it had been fun, to which the answer was a resounding no: turns out they’d been to a funeral. By the time it got to 11 pm I was beat, so I got a cab into the nearest city (Okayama), and spent the night in a capsule hotel. Whilst the hotel was perfectly clean and comfortable, it was just bizarre, and I felt like some kind of giant hamster. All in all I travelled about 700km today, so I have (fingers crossed) definitely broken the back of the journey.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hitching and Inappropriate Questions: Saturday 25th June

  1. GREAT! Well done and continued good luck.

Leave a Reply

