On the Road Again and Better than a Radio: Wednesday 29th June

This morning I got up early and went about exploring the island paradise that is Naoshima. As well as a couple of pretty spectacular modern art museums, there is a collection of art pieces built around one of the villages on the island that is a lot of fun, and well worth wandering the streets to find them all. At around midday I decided to get the ferry across to Uno, on mainland Honshu. My plan was to set off hitchhiking back to Tokyo, seeing how far I could get by the end of the day. I struck gold almost instantaneously, as I had attempted to flag down one of the disembarking cars, and they were able to take me to Okayama (again!), so that I could get onto the highway and begin the long trek home.

Naoshima: Literally an island paradise.

After waiting at Okayama for around 15 minutes I was picked up by a chap who was currently relocating to Yokkaichi (about 300 km from Okayama), and we had a very enjoyable chat for the 3 hours or so that we were together. At the beginning of the conversation I mentioned that I liked the music that was playing, trying to be polite, and so I we were then treated to every Eminem song in existence, twice. I don’t even think that he really liked rap music, but I had obviously given the impression that I was an avid fan. At Yokkaichi I turned down a lift to Nagoya, hoping to get a little bit further than 50km or so. However, after another 20 minutes or so of waiting I was beginning to loose faith, when who should appear but a scrap metal merchant who offered to take me all the way to Tokyo. As well as buying me something to eat and drink (I really need to shave as I obviously look destitute), he drove me the 400km not just to Tokyo, but also to my door! I didn’t have the words in English, let alone Japanese to thank him, but he said that it was a pleasure, and that I had been better than a radio, which I’m guessing is a good thing! So, after 5 days, 4 islands, and almost 3000 km my first hitchhiking experience in Japan has come to an end. The two main things I have learnt are: 1) The Japanese are the kindest people in the world. 2) Hitchhiking is bloody brilliant for practicing one’s conversational skills! Although if I have to tell one more person that the British don’t survive solely on a diet of fish & chips and English Breakfasts…

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

