Saved from Heat Exhaustion and A Drunken Russian Model: Thursday 30th June

Joy of joys, my air conditioning unit is working! Just before I went on my travels I took the front of it off with a screwdriver and flicked a couple of switches at random, and it seems to have done the trick. I can now move around my room without the very real risk of heat exhaustion, kind of; I am still unable to use it at much above 5% of its supposed capacity, as doing so results in the damn contraption it shutting itself down. Still, it beats having to sleep with my feet in the fridge, which was my next course of action.

They may well be ‘the art goods of the West sweets’, but that is no excuse for misspelling the word marine on tens of thousands of boxes!!

Why oh why do Japanese companies insist on putting rubbish English translations on their products. I am not trying to sound like a little Englander, but seriously if you’re going to insist on using English than you could at least get someone to check it. The amount of nonsensical wording is genuinely staggering; I would love to have been at the meeting where they decided that putting: ‘That is very delicious, and they are fashionable sweets. Don’t you take a break a little’ on the souvenir sweets that I brought back from Naoshima was a good idea. I mean it sounds like a Kit-Kat advert done by a drunken Russian model.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Saved from Heat Exhaustion and A Drunken Russian Model: Thursday 30th June

  1. Rabbit says:

    The title lead me to believe that this entry was going to be more salacious. I am disappointed.

  2. Kate says:

    I asked about this at work as loads of our clients have some strange slogans…. My favourite being one for tights that said ‘The leg wear have due and sharp line. You, charming, must make your feet more remarkably attractive’. Apparently after the recession lots of native speaking sub-editors and copywriters got laid off, therefore any products which were only marketed to the Japanese and not for international distribution had English or French writing on them in the expectation that no one that buys them can understand and that it makes the product more ‘sophisticated’…..

    • truehamlet says:

      Ah, makes sense! Still though, every company must have someone, or know someone who’s English is good. I wonder if part of it is a seniority thing? The boss suggests a translation and is not corrected because of his position? And where can I get me some of those tights, they sound smashing!

Leave a Reply

