Death to the Machine and Transmutation: Friday 1st July

Turns out I spoke far too soon regarding the functionality of my air conditioning unit, as it has now decided that it’s remit is to blow a constant stream of hot air over my rapidly melting body. A quick search on the Internet has lead me to believe that the refrigeration unit is probably kaput and so, figuring this to be a step to far for me and my ¥105 screwdriver, I got in touch with the estate agent. As a result someone is coming round to fix/scrap the damn contraption on Tuesday; either arriving between the hours of 2 and 5, or arriving at 2 and leaving at 5, I couldn’t quite make out the specifics.

Ice packs: three hours of preparation for three minutes of relief.

I know that I am occasionally guilty of exaggeration, but if my air conditioning unit is not fixed on Tuesday, then there is a very real possibility that I will transmute into a puddle of torrid water. It got to the point this afternoon when I literally had to put icepacks under my armpits, and then go for a run so that I could justify a freezing cold shower. And the fan doesn’t help much either, gazing at me with its dead features as it re-circulates the stifling air around the room, at a temperature just below boiling. In fact, given the extremity of my discomfort, I have been giving serious consideration to re-routeing my freezer through my Kotatsu, but have thus far been been foiled by my lack of welding equipment. However, I reckon that if I just leave the two appliances together, then the furnace like conditions of my room will probably solder them for me.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Death to the Machine and Transmutation: Friday 1st July

  1. Mike says:

    Might recommend just finding a cafe or similar location to spend time in during the day while you’re waiting for repairs…

    • truehamlet says:

      Mike,

      A very sensible idea. However, I worry that even the juice bar at Johnathan’s may take exception to an overnight stay.

Leave a Reply

