A Breach of the Geneva Convention and an End to My Nights in the Freezer: Tuesday 5th July

So after a nice little break, it was back to school. However, rather than dreading the daily torment of my own inadequacies, I as actually looking forward to going back: they have air conditioning! Or at least they did when I left just over a week ago, this morning however when we assembled in our classrooms, we were informed that it had broken! So not only was I to be bombarded with grammar points and vocabulary that I do not understand, but I was to do so under conditions that were quite possibly a breach of the Geneva convention. Thankfully they soon managed to find us another classroom, but the damage had already been done, with my blood flow now processing a similar water/salt ratio to that of the Dead Sea. Still, this meant that for once I actually had a valid excuse for my failure to conjugate verbs at the speed of light.

I was yet to see the Risk Assessment form.

This afternoon a beautiful thing happened: I had a new air-conditioning unit fitted! When the repairman came to assess the old one, he told me that the fan had completely stopped working, which probably meant that the refrigeration unit was in danger of exploding! I had been expecting a quick fix, but this slight malfunction meant that I needed a whole new machine, news that at first left me desolate. However, my tears of anguish swiftly turned to tears of joy when he told me that he would be able to fix a new unit there and then, and I had to restrain myself not to jump up and give him a hug. It took about 2 hours to fit the new unit, and I whilst he was doing so I tried my hardest not to be overly concerned about the fact that he was doing most of the installation whilst perched on my balcony, seemingly oblivious to the 15ft drop into Kinno-san’s yard. Still, I consoled myself with the fact that I had my earthquake escape kit, just in case I needed to perform a (painfully slow whilst I figure out how the rope ‘ladder’ actually works) rescue. After the new machine was fitted I just sat and basked in its refrigerated goodness, delighted at the end of my nights in the freezer.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

