A Bout of Social Class Syndrome and a Chilling Explanation: Thursday 7th July

I am pretty certain that, as far as learning new Japanese vocabulary is concerned, my brain has reached saturation point. As my brain also seems to have a very strange way of assigning importance to words that I have already learnt, I find myself in the possession of a rather bizarre vocabulary. For example I could tell you that the pecking order of a Japanese advertising agency is an example of social hierarchy in practice, but I have difficultly in remembering the parts of the body. Thankfully I haven’t needed to visit a doctor since I have been in Japan, as unless I was suffering from a severe bout of social class syndrome I would be in a bit of a pickle.

At just shy of £65 for the perm, I can't say that I'm not severely tempted.

Two days in, and my new air-conditioning unit is still working like a dream. I actually found myself in a position today of getting a little chilly, and so had to turn it off whilst I warmed myself up; such a luxury was almost unthinkable of a mere 72 hours ago. I also think I know what may have caused my old unit to die so dramatically. Because of the power shortages expected in Tokyo this summer, there is a government drive to have all air-conditioning units operating at a minimum of 28°C, however I only found this out the other day, and in my ignorance I had been attempting to cool my room to a planet-destroying 16°C! No wonder the thing came so close to exploding!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Bout of Social Class Syndrome and a Chilling Explanation: Thursday 7th July

  1. Mike says:

    You can get yours down to 16? I think the lowest I’ve historically hit was 19…

    • truehamlet says:

      I haven’t tested out the new beast yet, but if there are sudden power-cuts in your area, you know who to blame!

Leave a Reply

