The Wrong Kind of Certainty and the Possibility of Payback: Friday 8th July

Today in class I managed to cause our teacher to sink to the floor in desperation, although for once it was not solely because of my inability to correctly grasp the subject of the conversation. We were discussing things that were not certain, with the teacher citing ‘Which came first the Chicken or the egg?’ and ‘Is there another Earth-like planet in the Universe?’ as examples. Without meaning to I sabotaged her explanation when I began to argue that statistically it was almost a certainty that there was life on another planet, and that of course the egg came first, but from the ancestor of the chicken. In my defence I was just happy to be presented with a topic that I could actually get my head around; the mysteries of the Universe being an absolute breeze when compared to trying to fathom out why a woman insists on talking to the watch of her dead husband.

Is acting a compulsory requirement of all guests? If so then sign me up!

This afternoon I had another meeting at the Tokyo Institute of Technology (Tokyo Tech), and all being well my teaching of a ‘Science Communication and Theatre’ course will begin in November. There was also talk of taking a workshop to China as part of a cultural exchange program, although given the amount of bureaucracy and meetings that have taken place to date, I’m not holding my breath. I suspect that were my Japanese teachers to get wind of this course, that they would be some of the first to sign up, if only so that they could get their own back by nonsensical questions constructed using imaginary grammatical structures.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Wrong Kind of Certainty and the Possibility of Payback: Friday 8th July

  1. Mike says:

    Great news on the course! I have no idea what it would involve, mind you… We’ll be doing some full-on kabuki classes in preparation for a Kabuki Christmas Carol. 8-10 weeks or so of Sundays. Might be available to non-players as well, if you’re interested. Would likely be a fee involved, though.

    Envious of your daily studies. Always wanted to do that, but never had the finances.

    • truehamlet says:

      Thanks man. I know I am constantly moaning about my Japanese, but I am really grateful for the opportunity that I have. I just have to come to terms with the fact that I am clearly stupid!

Leave a Reply

