An Unwanted Discount and Yoga vs. Yoda: Saturday 9th July

Sometimes I find myself fabricating situations so that I can try out new vocab on the unsuspecting general public. Such an occurrence happened this afternoon when I purchased a train ticket, purposefully purchasing one of a lower value than was required, so that I could test out the word for ‘remaining ticket fair’.  However when I went to the guard and asked to pay the ‘unchinbusoku’ he refused to take any money from me and simply waved me through the barriers with a smile and a wave. How am I supposed to practice my bleeding Japanese under such conditions!

I think I may need a new knife, and perhaps also a new pineapple.

A funny thing happened in today’s Yoga class: I went the whole hour and a half without hearing my name. In fact, aside from the fact that I was given my usual Yoga training aids, for once I actually felt on a par with the rest of the class.  Given, I was still the least able student, but at least I demonstrated that there was a good reason for my continued failure (i.e. my lack of anything approaching flexibility), and that it wasn’t just because I am slightly simple. Having said that, I worry that my lack of pose, balance, flexibility and ability to breathe rhythmically, may be having a profound effect on our Sensei, as today she started telling us how important yoga was in relation to the Star Wars Universe. Perhaps I had misheard her, but rather I fear that such behaviour is indicative of my unfailing ability to wear down the mental resolve of anyone who has the misfortune of teaching me; at any rate she seemed very happy when we said goodbye to me for another week.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Unwanted Discount and Yoga vs. Yoda: Saturday 9th July

  1. Mike says:

    When I did yoga, I needed the little blocks, too. Most beginner guys do. The woman beside me would be putting her head between her legs I was stuck at a 90 degree angle, but nobody every bugged me–it’s about gradual improvement. Over just 3 sessions my instructor told me I’d improved a lot, even though I couldn’t see it myself. Nobody’s looking at you and thinking, “Geez, that guy sucks.” Of course, thinking so does let you have fun writing angsty and frustrated blog posts… 😉

    • truehamlet says:

      Mike,

      You would make such a great life coach! Yeah, I am definitely starting to improve a little, I just need to find time to practice by myself now as well. Thankfully my Sensei is the most patient woman in the world!

Leave a Reply

