Renamed and Affordable Fruit: Tuesday 12th July

We had a new Taiwanese girl, So-san; join our class today, a little confusing as we already have a Taiwanese girl called Soo-san in the class. “Not to worry” said Soo-san, “You can use my other name ‘Miyabi’”. Unsurprisingly, this seemed like a completely natural thing to the rest of the class, leaving only me to ponder on the fluidity of naming conventions. Resigning myself to a ‘if you can’t beat them join them’ attitude, I resolved to choose a new Japanese name for myself. As Miyabi roughly translates as refinement or elegance, I looked for something similar, and settled on ‘Migoto’ (splendid and/or magnificent). My teachers were more than happy to adopt this name change, but one of them suggested that ‘Omigoto’ was more of a real name, and so I settled on this. Omigoto translates as ‘Bravo!’, and I can’t help but think that my teachers now delight in the irony of this every time they use it.

What’s in a name? Especially a name that has two different ways in which it can be written!

At long last the wait is over: I have finally found some affordable fruit, as one of the ¥100 shops near my house now stocks bananas, pineapples, and punnets of cherries (although this rather luxurious item is priced at a far more opulent ¥305)! Delighted at this end to my scurvy-related worries, I stocked up whilst trying to convince myself that such well-priced fruit would keep for longer than the 5-minute walk back to my apartment. They made it to the refrigerator (just), but I don’t hold much hope for an overnight survival.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

