Taking the Boat Ashore and Dream Stealing: Thursday 14th July

In addition to our normal schooling, my fellow scholars and I are now also required to attend extra lessons twice a week, on Tuesday and Thursday afternoons. The purpose of these lessons is allegedly to prepare us for the JLPT N2 test in December, although given the amount of grammar, Kanji, and vocab we are expected to learn, on top of our school work, one could be forgiven for thinking that their real purpose was to destroy us. As some of the vocabulary is incredibly abstract, would struggle to learn it all in 6 years, let alone six months. I’m sure that ‘Take a boat into the shore’ is an exceptionally useful phrase if you are the proprietor of small boat-rental service, but for the rest of us it seems a little too particular.

Just a section of some of the 'essential' vocabulary we are expected to learn for JLPT N2.

Recently I have taken to waking people up on the train. This is in no way as sinister as it sounds, as I have a strict policy of only rousing people from their slumbers at the termination point, where it is clear that they have overslept. Whilst the targets of my good intentions appear grateful for my assistance, I am yet to receive anything more than a catatonic stare for my efforts. As for the rest of my fellow passengers, they seem even happier than usual to be leaving the train.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Taking the Boat Ashore and Dream Stealing: Thursday 14th July

  1. ben says:

    aw!

    I don’t think people would imagine the vb. ‘to dock’ out of place on an ESL course! But, I’m probably missing something.

    ☆!Niijima baby!☆

    • truehamlet says:

      As usual Ben, you have seen straight through my vain attempts to mask my inadequacies!

      Stupidly looking forward to this evening, good luck anyone who wants to sleep on that boat!

Leave a Reply

