Days Turn into Years and Accidental Borrowing: Friday 22nd July

I am convinced that Japanese only exists so as to make a fool of anyone who is stupid enough to attempt to learn it. This theory would certainly offer an explanation as to why the words for ‘the day before yesterday’ (ototoi) and ‘the year before last’ (ototoshi) are so bleeding similar. Whilst there have been many instances when I have informed people what I had for breakfast last year, and how I took a day-trip to France two days ago, today it was the turn of one of my classmates to fall foul of this linguistic trap, informing us all that she had attended her sister’s wedding on Wednesday just gone. This brought a laugh from most of the class, but given the specific instructions that we received at the start of our language course (namely that missing school for our sister’s wedding would be met with severe repercussions), I imagine that the headmaster will be checking this week’s register.

20110723-053219.jpg
My first ever Bentou (Japanese boxed lunch), it’s only taken me just under 10 months!

Tomorrow morning I am climbing Mt.Fuji, however I am doing things a little differently than the standard climb from one of the specified base stations. Namely I am starting at the sea, meaning that I have to climb approximately 48km in the horizontal and 3.75km in the vertical direction, and am attempting to do so in under 24 hours. Still it’s all for charity (Oxfam), so what price not being able to walk for a week or two. Ben and Linden are also participating in the challenge, and as there is a 6am start we caught the Shinkansen to Yoshiwara, where we stayed in a Japanese style (i.e. Tatami room) business hotel. I hope that the man in the local restaurant, who we got talking to over dinner, was merely being polite when he said that what we were attempting was impossible. At any rate he seemed pretty impressed, far more impressed than one of our fellow hotel guests, whose slippers I ‘accidentally borrowed’ whilst he was in the loo.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Days Turn into Years and Accidental Borrowing: Friday 22nd July

  1. Rabbit says:

    I think you mean “Tatami” room.

    Re: Fuji

    Going up is hard, but coming down is a total bitch. You’ll get tired and dizzy, and possibly even sick going up (hope you brought an O2 canister, especially if you’re going from sea level), but it’s a pretty straight climb. The route for going down is sandy, which forces you to walk funny, and will probably really end up hurting your knees if you’re not careful.

    But rock on, you mountain-climbing rock star!

    • truehamlet says:

      Yes, yes I did. Serves me right from updating via my iPhone!

      The part from the sea to the fifth station was hard, but doable. Looking forward to the rest of the beast!

  2. Rabbit says:

    It’s only uphill from there. I only did from the 5th station on. Around the 7th or 8th station is usually where altitude sickness kicks in. Mine kicked in between 8 and 9 but I just pushed through. One of the advantages of getting migraines a lot is that headaches are more of a distraction than a debilitation.

Leave a Reply

