Night Quakes and Sleep Deprived Awfulness: Monday 25th July

After going to bed last night at around 19:30, I was hoping for almost 11 hours of uninterrupted and peaceful sleep, so as give me some hope of coping with today’s schooling. It was thus unfortunate that at around 04:00 I was roused from a very deep sleep by a reasonably large earthquake. Actually roused is possibly the wrong verb, conjuring as it does an image of being gently awoken from one’s slumber, perhaps ‘violently snatched by the horrors of reality’ would be more appropriate. At any rate I had no idea what was going on, and once the tremors had subsided and I was finally able to go back to sleep, I found my dreams anything but a refuge from the rigors of reality.

If I want to avoid paying thousands of pounds worth of national health insurance then I have to somehow work out what the hell this form says, oh joy!

Unsurprisingly there was to be absolute no hope regarding today’s schooling, with today definitely a low-water mark in terms of my ‘ability’ to comprehend what was going on in class. If a normal school day can be likened to being stranded in the middle of the ocean, straining to keep my head above the water, whilst encircled by a shiver of sharks, then today found me on the sea floor, my bloodstained remains a feasting ground for the ocean’s bottom-feeders. Still, at least I had my sleep deprivation to attribute this inconceivable awfulness to.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

