A Diet of Children and Green Fingers of Death: Tuesday 26th July

Whilst my performance in school today was certainly an improvement on yesterday’s, I hardly clothed myself with glory. We were discussing how the lifestyles of our birth countries have changed in the years since the Second World War, and I thought it apt to talk about the vastly different diets. My classmates were somewhat shocked to find out that whilst today’s average English person fills their body with junk, their predecessors survived on a diet of vegetables and children (kodomo).  Obviously decent fruit (kudamono) was just too difficult to get hold of.

Yeah, it’s probably dead isn’t it.

My friend Rie bought me a small bonsai-esque plant for my birthday, back in February, and it has been standing on my bookshelf ever since. On average that poor specimen gets watered about once every two weeks or so; basically when I take notice of the fact that it is rapidly approaching the end of its (so far not exactly happy) existence. Amazingly, it is still alive; or rather I think that it is. However, given that this assumption is based on a solid foundation of absolutely zero knowledge of plant husbandry, it might well be that the poor sod has been dead for the past four and a bit months, and that I’ve simply been watering what is effectively a decomposing piece of compost. At any rate I think that I can safely tick off ‘gardener’ from my list of possible future jobs.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

