A Miraculous Light and The Coldest Place on Earth: Sunday 31st July

There was another earthquake last night, and whilst I am not sure of its exact magnitude it was enough to wake me from a very deep sleep, and to cause my room to shake reasonably violently. Not that it was strong enough to warrant getting out of bed for, and at any rate I was worried that if I did stand up then I might create a counterforce which would finally result in the light falling from the ceiling. It is one of the wonders of the modern world how that thing, held in place by twine at an impossible angle, is still mounted to the ceiling. I am pretty certain that my table, as opposed to my face, would break it’s fall, but I worry that if I were to tinker with it then I would somehow undo the magic that is contriving to keep it up.

This was certainly not part of the recipe that I was following.

Last night I left some rice in the fridge, to soak over night, ready to cook with this afternoon. Upon inspection of the rice I was rather surprised to find that it had absorbed all of the water, and had swelled almost out of the bowl. I then realized that this wasn’t the case at all, and that the water in which the rice had been soaking had frozen, trapping some of the grains in an icy catacomb. Assuming that my refrigerator had somehow been knocked onto ‘arctic’, I was rather taken aback when I found out that it was running at just over half its capacity. I shudder to think what would happen if I began running it at full power, but it might offer me the opportunity of being the first person to measure absolute zero (−273.15 °C), and failing that would almost certainly be my way into the world of cryogenic freezing.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Miraculous Light and The Coldest Place on Earth: Sunday 31st July

  1. chris says:

    I’m sure there could be a market for Frozen Rice Cakes, just what you want on a cold day for the diet conscious

Leave a Reply

