Not Entirely Incompetent and Trekking in Rush Hour: Friday 5th July

Today in school we had the equivalent of a mid-term exam, and whilst it was not exactly a thrilling activity, it did at least bring a blessed relief to the recent theme of death that has been laced through our schooling. During the test I only had to raise my hand to raise my hand, in order to explain that there were words in the paper that we were yet to be taught, the three times. However, judging by the sighs of the relief, as our Sensei wrote the explanations on the whiteboard, these words seemed to have caused my fellow classmates a similar amount of consternation, leaving me to ponder the remarkable possibility of me being not entirely incompetent.

A present from Nerissa from Nepal: I look forward to feeling my feet again come the Winter (okay mid-August).

This weekend I have Nerissa, on her way back to the UK after travelling the world, coming to stay with me; I know that she has been to Africa, but I hope that she is prepared for the Saharan conditions of my flat! To this end I caught the train out to Narita to pick her up, forgetting that the peasant train, whilst about  £15 cheaper also travels at something like the speed of my progress in Japanese. On our way back I had a tremendous amount of fun traversing rush hour traffic on the busiest train system in the world, carrying a bag that a Sherpa would have baulked at. Thankfully I am a dab hand at carrying large unyielding items on the public transport, but it never ceases to amaze me that for all their intelligence and techno savviness the Japanese are yet to grasp the basic concept of spatial awareness.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not Entirely Incompetent and Trekking in Rush Hour: Friday 5th July

  1. Rabbit says:

    Saharan conditions? Lucky bastard! My place is more like a tropical rainforest, except without the woodsy charm.

  2. Rabbit says:

    No, I keep finding wildlife. Eight foot long cockroaches and the like.

Leave a Reply

