My New Best Friend and Image Consulting: Wednesday 10th August

Last night I had my first good night’s sleep since I returned to Japan, mainly because I was sleeping on a futon that wasn’t 40cm too short for me! When Nerissa came to stay she used my sofa-futon, and then proceeded to ask me why I didn’t normally sleep on it: I didn’t have an answer. And so it was that I discovered that I have been needlessly sleeping in a forced fetal position for the past goodness knows how many nights, when all along the answer was literally staring me in the face. Well okay not literally, as thankfully my new best friend is a still a sentient being; the only thing that felt a little strange was that I had to go the whole day without a dull throbbing pain in the lower base of my back.

Sweet dreams are indeed made of this.

This morning’s schooling found me drafted in for some image consulting work. Specifically my opinion was sought as to what the name for the new student accommodation should be: Student Residence; Student House; or Student Dormitory. I wanted to say that in my opinion, ‘Student House’ conjured up the most inviting image, but instead I told the developer that: ‘A residence sounds a little formal, and a dormitory reminds me of the army. It is only upon hearing the word house that I would feel safe.’ Still, I’m pretty sure that I got my point across; well either that or Tokyo’s getting a new conscription office.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

