Solar Power and A Doggy in a Window: Tuesday 16th August

After yesterday’s relative successes with the Devil’s Tongue, today fund me back to my usual malapropism-spewing self. Having somehow confused the words for ‘sun’ and ‘coal’, my classmates were surprised to find out that 60% of UK industry is solar powered, and I didn’t have the heart, or more importantly the Japanese, to rectify my mistake.  Everyone seemed rather less impressed when I told my teacher that she looked very full, I had meant to say that she looked a little distressed, and if she hadn’t been before then she most certainly was now.

In fairness he (or she) does look pretty life like.

My ability to forget things almost before I have begun learning them never ceases to amaze me, but it is by no means limited to the classroom, as I am convinced that my synapses stopped firing on all cylinders sometime in the late 90’s. Walking into a room and immediately forgetting why you have done so is a common enough ailment, but not when you only have two rooms in your house! One of the most distressing elements of my affliction is that everyday I forget that the dog I pass in one of the shops on my way to the station is not real. This in itself wouldn’t be too bad, but it is always accompanied by a mini pedestrian-jam as I stop in the middle of the crowded street to see if the dog is okay. I’m half tempted to put up a sign on the lamppost to remind me of the dog’s inertness, but I know that I’d just end up wondering who had written such a bizarre note.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

