Trying to Second Guess a Psychopath and Gone Fishin’: Friday 19th August

Today we started a new chapter in our textbook. As it normally takes us between three and four days to go through the set text, it is possible to work trough the vocabulary list of new words before the story is complete. This means that if you are as devoid of a social life myself, then you can entertain yourself by playing a little game of trying to guess what the story is going to be about. I am normally always completely wrong, mainly because the textbook takes a macabre delight in turning a seemingly innocent situation into a death filled trip of pain and suffering, meaning that attempting to come up with a plausible scenario is like trying to second guess a psychopath. Some of the words in this latest chapter include: ‘wave’; ‘flood’; ‘wound’; and ‘extinction’; as well as the seemingly innocuous ‘friendship’; ‘national boundary’; and ‘distinction by gender’. Now I wonder where they could possibly be going with that.

20110820-044542.jpg
This can only end well.

A couple of weeks ago my friend Rie invited me to go night fishing with her and some friends down at her Dad’s house in the Minura Peninsular this weekend. Despite the extent of my fishing experience being limited to minnows and lemonade bottles sometime in the last millennium I accepted the invitation. Thankfully the plans for night fishing swiftly changed into ‘Getting up at the crack of Dawn’ fishing, which was handy as Rie’s dad had prepared a veritable feast for us. Halfway through the meal he said something to me which I didn’t quite understand, causing me to wheel out my standard reply of ‘hai’. The next thing you know I’m eating Octopus liver jam, which was without a doubt the saltiest thing that I have ever tasted, and I include raw salt in that equation. I tried to ignore the fact that my insides were rapidly shrivelling, forced through a satisfied grin, and nodded my approval. Unfortunately this merely resulted in the pot of jam being placed in front of me, and so I had to declare that I had eaten my fill for the evening, thereby avoiding the fate of being embalmed from the inside out.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

