Whoppers and Semi-conscious Decapitations: Saturday 20th August

So, after getting up at 04:30 and driving down to the pier, we were told that the bait shops didn’t open until 06:30, great! After ignoring my suggestion of baiting our lines with crisps and ice-cream from the combini, we eventually found a shop that was open, and got down to some serious fishing. Within 20 minutes I had my first bite, although unfortunately for me this happened to occur just as an industrial fishing vessel was coming into dock at the place we had pitched up. To make matters worse it felt like I had Moby Dick at the end of my line, and so I soon found myself in a race against both time and humiliation,  reeling for all I was worth and eventually landing my ‘whopper’ moments before we were dashed into smithereens against the harbor wall. Sadly my early success did not pave the way for things to come, as I landed only one more fish in the next 4 hours. Thankfully Rie and her friends were more successful; they web managed to bag a tyre, although sadly there was no Old boot to complete the cliché.

You should have seen the one that got away...

Back at the house, Rie’s dad impressed us all by making sashimi from some of the fish that we had caught, as we ate a fabulous dinner made from the fruits of our (well everybody else’s) labour. The most delicious dish was fried horse mackerel and chili, and it was definitely the freshest fish that I have ever eaten. It was so fresh in fact that one of the fish was still trying to make a bid for freedom as we popped it them the sink, meaning that it had the misfortune of being decapitated whilst still semi-conscious; the poor little blighter.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Whoppers and Semi-conscious Decapitations: Saturday 20th August

  1. Ben Nazer says:

    I think that, as the fish was headed for the pot anyhow, a decapitation probably helped end it’s suffering rather well. If I’m slowly dying, and you have plans to eat me, please feel free to chop off my head (preferably with a sharp knife!)

Leave a Reply

