Drizzle and a Spaghetti Based Concoction: Sunday 21st August

I woke up this morning to a light drizzle, and it was wonderful! Or at least it was until I decided to go for a run in it, at which point it turned into a storm. This wasn’t so wonderful, in fact to tell the truth it was bloody miserable. However, it was still infinitely preferable to running in 80% humidity. I never thought I’d say this but I miss the overcast British summer like mad!

Mmmmm…?

After eating Mapu dofu (after consulting Wikipedia this is the spelling that I am now sticking with!) last night, for what was probably the 10th time in two weeks, I decided that something needed to be done, and so I forced myself into cooking a spaghetti based concoction for my dinner. I say concoction because to attempt to label it as a specific dish would be doing a disservice to whatever it was that I was trying to emulate, and whilst it was just about edible it merely reconfirmed my suspicions that it is unwise to cook anything that isn’t an anagram of ‘Puma Food’.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Drizzle and a Spaghetti Based Concoction: Sunday 21st August

  1. Ben Nazer says:

    About the Ma-bo / Mapo thing…. I think you’d call it mapo if you were trying to recreate the authentic sichuan dish, and ma-bo if you acknowledge that you’re dish is more similar to the Japanese reinvention.

  2. Ben Nazer says:

    you could try, “A Bum Food”

  3. Ginger says:

    Or Bum a Food…

Leave a Reply

