False Dawns and Bad Apples: Monday 22nd August

A new teacher started today, and I was keen to impress on her an (entirely false) opinion that I was not the worst student that she had ever taught. In order to do this I jumped on any question that I understood half of the words to, and quietly busied myself with writing imaginary notes when difficult grammar was being discussed. And I would have got away with it too, if it hadn’t been for those pesky kids… in my class who are genuinely competent.

Because it wouldn't be Tokyo if there wasn't a random modern art exhibit of giant gummy bears.

This afternoon I had an appointment with a ‘genius’ at the apple store in Shibuya, in order to try and fix my iPod Nano. Sadly things did not go well, as it turns out there is water damage and so it is not covered by warranty. They knew this because apparently in every apple product there is an indictor, which turns red if too much water is present. This level of draconian efficiency is almost acceptable, what is not acceptable however is that the ‘guarantee void’ indicator is also affected by humidity. When the genius told me that the apple warranty specifically states not to use the product in places where there is high humidity, I asked him if that meant apple advised against buying products in Japan; unsurprisingly he didn’t have an answer to this. This matter is far from over.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to False Dawns and Bad Apples: Monday 22nd August

  1. Ben Nazer says:

    It’s not just an Apple thing. Every phone I’ve seen in Japan has an indicator that goes Pink after about 2 weeks unless you leave it in it’s box.

    I’ve heard the “Oh, I’m sorry, it’s got water damage, so you will have to pay full price for a replacement” line 4 times, and I’ve had 5 different mobile phones over the past 7 years!

Leave a Reply

