This Sporting Life and Losing it: Sunday 28th August

I had another adventure this afternoon, set up once again by my failure to grasp what the hell was going on. I was due to meet Rie in the early afternoon to go and watch ‘something that resembles badminton’ (her words, my translation). However, what we were actually doing was going to play ‘Tamburello’ for three hours in the boiling heat of a Tokyo summer afternoon, and it was enormous fun! Tamburello is literally badminton played with tambourines, and I feel as though I may have finally found my calling in (sporting) life. Unbeaten in the singles, and only a single defeat in the doubles are results which speak for themselves, and there was even talk about me playing in an upcoming tournament; although in fairness it is just as likely that I was being told about a delightful hat sale in my local boutique.

The Scene of Defeat.

This evening I went to the monthly pub quiz in Shimo Kitazawa, where my team came fourth out of four teams. Sadly I didn’t know the exact years of the abolition of British slavery or the that the national symbol of India is a mango, however I did know that fourth place meant that we came, last and that this made me sad. Better that I just stick to Tamburello in the future methinks.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This Sporting Life and Losing it: Sunday 28th August

  1. Mike says:

    Glad I didn’t go… sounds hard…

  2. So, in Tokyo too people plays tamburello (otr tambass, like in my village call this game)? Good!

Leave a Reply

