Harvesting Organs and Cockroaches: Tuesday 30th August

My inclination regarding the content of our Japanese textbook proved to be correct, and after today I (theoretically at least) am now able to have a conversation regarding the ethics of harvesting the organs of people in a vegetative state. I really hope that this particular textbook is only used by people above a certain age, as the subject matter is thoroughly depressing for me, let alone a secondary school student who thought that learning Japanese would be an interesting alternative to French or German. Disheartening and melancholic: yes, confidence building and moral boosting: definitely not.

‘So when you’re sleeping I’m going to harvest your organs, okay?’

The second cockroach of the summer was spotted, and dispatched with accordingly. I was just closing the draw where I keep my pans, when I saw the shadow of something move across the light, and once I was sure of its intentions, i.e. that it intended to live, I knew what I had to do. As the little brute had decided to invade my pots and pans I thought it appropriate that my pots and pans invade its disgusting crustaceous physique. I would like to say that I took no joy in splattering its brains all over the bottom of one of my heavy bottom saucepans, but I’d be lying. I am now resolved to kill any more of the little blighters using instruments immediately surrounding their last known location, and am almost willing them to come near the vacuum cleaner, bleach, and electric noise-hair trimmers!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Harvesting Organs and Cockroaches: Tuesday 30th August

  1. Mike says:

    Don’t vacuum a roach. A few days later, the eggs will hatch, and little ones will be climbing back out.

    Remind me never to let you cook me anything with your saucepan…

  2. Rabbit says:

    Buy the spray. Spray the bastards, let them die, then flush them. If you splatter a female, you may just be spewing eggs all over the place.

Leave a Reply

