Recycling Death and Dodgy Dates: Wednesday 31st August

Today in school we were discussing our recycling habits, which given the totalitarian approach that the Japanese take towards reprocessing, was actually fairly useful. I am sure that my classmates also found my contributions to be fairy useful, at least as a confidence boost for their own Japanese. Somehow I found myself trying to explain that in Leicester they had a special machine (kikai) that did all of the sorting for the recycling, thereby making it easier for the general public. However, I wasn’t quite clear enough in my explanation, meaning that my sensei wanted to know what the hell a death anniversary (kaiki) had to do with distinguishing between burnable and non-burnable waste.

 

Looking at this photo, I was probably lucky to have been let out of the immigration bureau not under lock and key.

This afternoon I had to pay a visit to the happiest place in Tokyo: the Immigration Bureau in Shinagawa, as I needed to change the status of my visa from ‘student’ to ‘working’. Knowing that the dates for my tenure in Tokyo are different on my passport, visa, and alien registration card, I was just waiting for someone to spot this and kick me out of the country on a bureaucratic technicality. When I was finally called, it was with some trepidation that I spotted some of the dates on the latest form had been highlighted as erroneous, however this was quickly rectified (I changed it to the date I was told), and the rest of the processing passed without incidence. However, I couldn’t help but notice that one of the immigration officers seemed to be spending a prolonged length of time studying my passport photograph, and their face definitely bore all the hallmarks of suppressed laughter.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Recycling Death and Dodgy Dates: Wednesday 31st August

  1. Tiger says:

    nice picture Sam, not so sure you should have posted it with all your personal details though, lol. and yes I too was suprized they didn’t keep you longer, you definatley look suspect to me….!!!

  2. Rabbit says:

    The photo looks like an NPC character portrait from a late-90s RPG.

    • truehamlet says:

      You mean to tell me that you haven’t played as the ‘Lord Illingworth’ character in Baldur’s Gate 2, you’re really missing out!

Leave a Reply

