Washing in Filth and Swimming in Junk: Thursday 1st September

I finally got to the bottom of why most Japanese washing machines aren’t directly connected to a hot water supply, but the response that my Sensei gave me hardly filled me with glee. Allegedly one is supposed to buy a pump, and then syphon off the used (hot) bath water directly into the washing machine. Even given the fact that you are expected to have a shower and a thorough scrub before you get into a Japanese bath, but at the end of the day you’re still ‘washing’ your clothes in filth. My Sensei assured me that it was a perfectly acceptable practice, as the syphoning was stopped during the rinse, but I remained far from convinced by the whole practice, which seems like a bizarre environmentally friendly reverse adaptation of throwing the baby out with the bath water.

I don’t know where this is, but it is quite obviously a very severe University, with a serious reputation, and a world-renowned reputation.

Any environmental credit that may have been gained from washing ones clothes in dirty bath water is swiftly nullified by the amount of waste that is produced from junk mail; every time I open my postbox I am in danger of an injury from the swelling paper tide of bunkum advertising and useless information. I reckon that it’s all part of an elaborate ploy, whereby the old flyers are pulped and made into even more annoying variants on their previous incantations. At any rate I have resolved to throw a spanner or two in the works, and now just throw everything in ‘burnable rubbish’, that’ll bloody teach them; whoever they are.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Washing in Filth and Swimming in Junk: Thursday 1st September

  1. Rabbit says:

    That’s interesting; I barely get any junk mail. Maybe one or two A4 flyers worth per day.

    As for the bathwater: that’s what we all do here. Those of us who are lucky enough to have our bathtubs close to our washing machines (doesn’t work if you’re one of those poor people who keeps the washer on the balcony). It’s fine. As your 先生 said, the rinse is done with clean water.

    • truehamlet says:

      I seem to get a ridiculous amount, I think I am targeted as a 外人, and yes I am one of the unfortunates whose washing machine is on the balcony, but it’s still disgusting!

  2. Rabbit says:

    You’re so dainty!

Leave a Reply

