Cockroaches and Mouthwash: Friday 9th September

In today’s lessons we discussed the current economic situation around the world, and my teacher was very shocked to find out (from me) that the Japanese unemployment rate currently stands at approximately 90%. However this was nothing compared to the abject horror as a massive cockroach crawled out from her desk. Thankfully I was on hand to save my (in some cases literally) screaming classmates, using the homework box to trap the brute before setting it free outside. People were less impressed when I put their homework back in the box, forcing the teacher to sterlise everything before it could be returned. Honestly, all this fuss over a little bug, no wonder the economy is floundering!

ARRGGGGHHH!!!!!!

In order to try and do my bit for the environment I always refuse a polythene bag at the check out; as I usually have a bag with me this is okay, but there have been a few occasions where I have to juggle the items in a manner befitting that of an underdeveloped clown. However, even when I do have a bag with me, the assistants in certain shops, hang your head in shame local chemist, insist on putting a label on the products to prove that it isn’t stolen. They also decide to use labels made of anti-Teflon, and so try as I might I can never get the darn things off. Unfortunately this particular dilemma combined with my OCD, means that I have to try and hand the mouthwash to the chemist in such a way that they can only put the sticker on the back of the bottle, thereby saving me from having to look at the aberration every time I enter the bathroom. I realise that I need help

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

