Geothermal Solutions and One Hell of a Fire Hazard: Saturday 10th September

This afternoon I attended a workshop on Future Energy, hosted by the Oxfam IVG (International Volunteer Group), and it turned out to be great fun, and also very informative.Β  Aside from the fact that once again a team that I was in came dead last in a group activity, it served as a useful reminder that I haven’t quite forgotten everything I learnt in my career as a Physicist. My overriding conclusion from the workshop was that geothermal energy can solve everything, providing that you have unlimited access to a geothermal energy source, and given the recent temperatures in my apartment I am beginning to wonder if I can cut myself off from the corporate grid by fashioning myself a mini-geothermal plant from a couple of used fans and some toilet-roll turbines.

Somewhere in here there used to be a pub.

Continuing the Oxfam related theme, this evening I attended a charity gig at the Pink Cow, where Linden’s band were playing. It was a great evening, and not at all marred by the fact that there were about 110 people in a bar that looked as though it could hold a little over 75. The resulting temperatures were enough to geothermically power the free world for the foreseeable future, but I was unable to do much about it, concerned as I was by my imminent spontaneous combustion, and the one hell of a fire hazard that this would create.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

