Tissue Paper Menace and Stupidly Expensive Steaks: Thursday 15th September

Today’s listening and writing tests weren’t as painful as they could have been; surprisingly I was able to answer at least half of the listening paper without resorting to mindless guesswork. As part of the written test we had to create a composition about one of three given topics, and given that I failed to fully understand either of the other two subjects, I was forced into composing an essay entitled ‘Tissue Paper is not necessary’.  I am slightly worried that: ‘people who use tissue paper to constantly mop their brow in humid weather are a menace to society, and are single-handedly responsible for the destruction of this planet on which we live’ might come across as a little bit strong, but I felt I argued my case well.

These were bloody delicious, but what else would you expect at just under £160 a pop?

This evening I was invited out by my Korean friend for a meal with a couple of her associates. Alarms bells started ringing when I found out that the restaurant was in the ridiculously upmarket Aoyama Itchome, and when I was informed that it was the famous steak restaurant that I used to pass every morning on my way to school I nearly had a fit. Turned out I needn’t have worried as one of my fellow diners was the inventor of the 3D projector (seriously), and so dinner was very much on him. We had a great evening eating ridiculously expensive steak (around ¥20000 a person) and conversing. This was made somewhat difficult owing to the fact that between us there was no one common language, but we still had a great night. My personal highlight was being asked, ‘You don’t drink? Even wine?’, thereby confirming my suspicions that wine is actually a non-alcoholic beverage.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

