Real Tennis and Kitten Charms: Friday 16th September

Today’s speaking exam wasn’t a complete disaster, although I did embark on a long rant about who I received letters from whilst in Japan, when in actual fact I had been asked who I wrote letters to; I attempted to mask this as a preamble to my final answer, but I don’t think that I had my sensei fooled. One of the questions that I was asked was what was my favourite TV program as a child, to which I instinctively replied ‘Knightmare’. However, when asked for an explanation of the format of said show I decided to tell a bit of a lie, as sadly my vocabulary doesn’t extend to ‘a game show featuring a virtual reality dungeon set somewhere in medieval Europe’, as such my sensei got a lovely explanation about a quiz based game with no prizes, where contestants battled it out to cook traditional English recipes, and play traditional English games, such as real Tennis. As an aside I went on to inform my sensei that Real Tennis had been invented by King Henry VIII, and that it’s inclusion in Knightmare was due to the presenter’s love of aforementioned monarch. My grammar seemed reasonably sufficient throughout, so now I just have to hope that I won’t be marked down for utter fabrication.

Only real men have Mickey Mouse phone covers and Hello Kitty charms.

My integration into Japanese society continues apace, as after almost a year of resisting i finally have a charm for my mobile phone. Obviously it had to be a variety of the Hello Kitty Franchise and cutesy to the point of nausea, but to tell the truth I’m already quite fond of it.  As an added bonus, the attached bell acts as a warning to any bears that may possibly be lurking in the Tokyo Metropolitan area.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

