Lethal Weapons and Japanese Schoolgirls: Saturday 17th September

Whilst I have been guilty of carrying the odd over-sized item of furniture on the Japanese transport system, I am fully innocent in regards to the transportation of lethal weapons; which is more than can be said for the dozen or so students that I see every week with their yumi and ya (Japanese bow and arrows). Whilst their motives are no doubt of the fairly innocuous variety, and even though I realise that firing a bow and arrow on a crowded train must be taxing in the extreme, I still feel a slight pang of unease whenever I see such equipment on the underground. After all, you can attach cutesy charms and wrap it up in all the flowery quilted padding you want, but it’s still an instrument that has been responsible for the slaughter of untold millions throughout the ages. A crime that, to the best of my knowledge, cannot be leveled at sofa futons and art deco lamps.

The stage: sans incriminating evidence.

This evening I attended a superb evening of Absurdist Comedy by the Black Stripe theatre troupe. As an added bonus towards the end of the second play Ben and I were invited up on stage to help remove a dead Japanese schoolgirl; as she also happened to be in a slight state of undress at the time, any photographs could be potentially incriminating. In keeping with the theme of the evening, I also had a somewhat bizarre encounter in the toilets of the theatre, where a random chap decided to choose the exact moment that I was approaching the urinal to mutter something to me. I am almost certain that he said ‘Nice stubble’, which I took in good faith to merely be an indication that the moustache experiment is going well.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

