Bean Bags and Yukata: Sunday 18th September

Another glorious summer’s day in Tokyo, another Sunday spent traipsing half way across one of the world’s largest metropolis in search of some random train station to pick up some furniture that I decided on a whim was absolutely essential to my existence. And so, after the now obligatory, ‘What do you mean where’s the nearest train station, surely you’re coming by car’ conversation, fours trains and a couple of monorails I found myself in the possession of a couple of rather nifty brown bags; retail price ¥18000, my price ¥3000 (about £24). As an added bonus I didn’t need to worry about finding a seat on the trains home, although I had to be sure to take care of the potential fatality brought about by malfunctioning train doors.

A comfortable, yet hypothetically lethal alternative to the regular seating.

This afternoon I finally bought a Yukata, having somehow survived without one since the days of Hotel Asia, almost a year ago. I managed to pick up a top quality white Yukata and red obi (belt) for the ridiculously low price of ¥1780. Not knowing exactly how to wear said items of clothing I asked the shop owner if he ‘wouldn’t mind awfully having a go at dressing me’, and the slightly shocked expression suggested that something might have been lost in translation. In the end I think he was just relieved that I didn’t start to undress in the middle if his shop, which happened to be outside in the middle of a busy street.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bean Bags and Yukata: Sunday 18th September

  1. Mike says:

    Where’d you get the obi? I need one! (plz mail–won’t see a reply here).

  2. Ben says:

    Where’d you get the Obi? I need Wan!

  3. Ben says:

    オヤジギャグ

Leave a Reply

