Plane Tickets and Airport Sleeping: Friday 23rd September

When I was booking my super cheap flights to Hokkaido I somehow failed to realise that it is impossible to get to the airport for a 6am flight unless you spend the night at the airport. As such I spent most of today running around like a blue-bottomed fly, trying to complete the innumerable tasks that were required before my departure. Inevitably this meant that I would forget something, and unfortunately for me this just so happened to be the plane tickets. Sadly, upon returning to my house the plane tickets were nowhere to be found, and so I set off back to the airport, desperately trying to convince myself that I had misread the terms and conditions of my ticket, which stated that ‘if lost no refunds or replacements are available’. On a whim I decided to root through one of the convenience store bins into which I had earlier thrown a bag of rubbish. Oblivious to the incredulous looks and voiced concerns from the passers by, I tore through the bin like a, well like a homeless person tearing through a bin. Just as I was about to give up hope my eyes alighted on the tickets, crumbled, slightly sodden but still just about complete. Now I just have to hope that there was nothing relating to soiling in those damned terms and conditions.

5* luxury.

When I finally did arrive at the airport (Haneda) I headed straight to the information desk and enquired as to if it were possible to spend the night at the airport, and if so where. A very helpful lady informed me that yes it was possible, and that anywhere I could find to sleep would be okay. I took this to mean anywhere that was legally accessible, and so settled for one of the benches rather than the shop front of the Christian Dior shop. I actually managed to make myself reasonably comfortable, the searing lights and continuous warning notice from a nearby escalator gently lulling me off to sleep.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

