Crisp Mornings and Dodgy Wireless: Sunday 25th September

It was so refreshing to be able to go for a morning run in an environment that was devoid of both extreme humidity and idiots with umbrellas. What is more, the air here is so crisp that you savor every mouthful and I’m already thinking of how difficult it is going to be moving back to Tokyo, especially given the fact that my room is roughly twice the size of my entire apartment, and comes replete with double bed, wall to wall wardrobes, and an actual mirror!

Some of the handsome lakeside views.

After spending much of the morning failing to restore the family’s wireless Internet connection (I hope they don’t notice for a while yet the exact extent of the issue), I headed off on a wander that quickly turned into a 14km hike. The fact that I have already been repeatedly asked if I have a driver’s license should have been a clue, but we really are in the middle of nowhere, and it is wonderful. I wandered down to Lake Toya, took in some of the spectacular views, and headed home, making it back just in time to help with some more produce preparation. I am getting to be quite a dab hand at wrapping herbs in plastic, and only hope that my assistance goes some way to paying off the debt incurred by my tinkering with the family computer.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Crisp Mornings and Dodgy Wireless: Sunday 25th September

  1. Mike says:

    Hokkaido rocks! Thoroughly envious!

Leave a Reply

