Spiders and Laughter: Monday 26th September

After a morning of Japanese study I decided to reward myself by going for a wonder in the surrounding countryside. After half an hour or so I randomly alighted upon a croquet pitch next to a Shinto shrine, and so set up stall on one of the empty benches and spent a couple of hours reading my book under the glorious Hokkaido sunshine. The only slight downside to this idyllic existence was that the nearby toilet resembled one of the more extreme scenes from Arachnophobia. Of course I didn’t realise this until after I had walked face first into a giant spider’s web; I only hope that occupant of said abode didn’t land in my bag and follow me back to the house…

Not quite a fine English lawn…

The wonderful thing about living with young children is that they are so abrupt. So whilst all of the adult Japanese people that I encounter nod gamely along to my attempts at communicating, the 4 and 8 year olds that I live with have absolutely no qualms what-so-ever in telling me that my Japanese is ‘strange’, whilst issuing guttural instructions that I cannot comprehend. Thankfully these mostly boil down to ‘can I play on your iPhone’ or ‘Why are you so tall’, and whenever my response is met with pearls of innocent laughter I just pull a silly face and pretend that they are laughing with me. I can’t help but think that this is something of a microcosm for my life.

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

