Breaking Coffee and Stealing Internet: Tuesday 27th September

Today didn’t get off to the best of starts. When I went out for my morning run, there was a fog which made seeing more than 20ft in front of you an impossibility, and running along the hard shoulder of an A-road (the only way to get off our farm) a pretty terrifying experience. Upon returning to the house I had just put the coffee on, when it became apparent that something was very wrong. By not putting the lid on the pot during percolating not only had I broken the machine, I had also wasted the last of the coffee. Thankfully Mr. Sasaki was able fix the coffee maker, but he was unable to materialize any new beans from thin air, and so we both suffered.

Some of the impressive displays in the Sapporo Museum of Natural History; the left skeleton is bear, and on the right we have a type of deer, I think.

This afternoon Mr. Sasaki was heading into Sapporo (about 90km away) to visit his father, and very kindly offered to give me a lift. I thus spent a lovely afternoon wandering through the Botanical Gardens and taking in the other landmarks of Japan’s fourth largest city. At one point I needed to download something via Wi-Fi on my iPhone, and so spent an stimulating 20 minutes or so loitering in and around a mobile phone shop, trying desperately to look like I might actually by interested in buying something rather than just steal their unprotected Internet. Oh the delights of Sapporo.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

