Washing Inspiration and Jumping Bugs: Friday 7th October

Probably the greatest thing about my homestay to date, leaving aside the wonderful food, useful Japanese practice and incredible generosity of the Sasaki family, has been the ability to wash my clothes using hot water! What is more I have been able to use boiling hot water that hasn’t first been washed in by the whole family, as the shower attachment in the bathroom reaches all the way to the washing machine. Inspired by this set up I am now convinced that I can rig up a similar system back in Tokyo, and that in doing so I would probably only need to remove one, or at the very most two, panes of glass from my kitchen and bathroom windows, result!

Here's a fine looking specimen.

One of the few things that I do not like about living in the remote wilderness of Southern Hokkaido is the number of insects; they are flipping everywhere, and some of them are just bizarre. Thankfully I am yet to see any cockroaches in the house, I expect that it is now too cold for them, but out in the fields I keep encountering a variety that is almost as repulsive as those skittering fiends that litter Tokyo: the jumping variety. These things must jump a good 50-60 cm into the air, and to make matters worse they seem hell bent on following me wherever I go, which makes for very paranoid and nervous rambling. They also seem as indestructible as their Tokyo relatives, and I just hope that none of them find a way to follow me back to the big city, as otherwise we could have another Cane Toad on our hands.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

