Porridge and Ice Cream: Sunday 9th October

This afternoon I went out for a run, only to return and find that the kids had been playing in my room whilst I was out. Rather than being annoyed I was delighted, as it enabled me to utter the phrase ‘Who’s been sleeping in my bed?’ with reasonable motive. The only thing that I was upset about was that there had been no porridge involved, although as I am unsure of what the Japanese for porridge actually is, this was most certainly a blessing for all concerned.

Lining up for my big boys’ treat.

Once it had been established that I wasn’t actually in a terrible rage with the children, and that I had instead been ‘acting’, we were all whisked along to one of the local farms to eat ice cream and look at the horses. I am not entirely sure what I had done to deserve such a treat, but I was more than happy to regress back to a youth of ponies and frozen delicacies. And it has to be said; pumpkin flavour ice cream is flipping delish.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

