Travelling Errors and Basically Sausage Bread: Tuesday 11th October

As a condition of my scholarship it is expected that during my home stay I pay a courtesy visit to the local branch of Daiwa securities.  This seems like a very reasonable request, until you realise that my ‘local’ branch office is in Sapporo, a 6-hour, ¥5000 return bus journey away. And so it was that I found myself on a sweltering hot bus, cramped into a seat that was far too small for me, whilst my contact lenses absorbed all of the remaining moisture from my body. I’d like to be able to say that the journey was worth it, that I had a fantastic lunch and met some fascinating people. I’d like to say that, but sadly I never made it to the Daiwa branch office, because as I was walking the 500m from Sapporo station I checked my emails to be sure of who it was that I supposed to meet, only to find out that the meeting was scheduled for tomorrow. As turning up a day early for an unscheduled lunch would be akin to devouring whole the hand that feeds me, I had no option but to do a little light shopping and then catch the 3-hour bus ride home. Oh well, there’s always tomorrow…

Another satisfied customer.

This evening i had volunteered to cook some traditional English fare for the whole family. Having decided on a menu of vegetable stew & dumplings accompanied by toad in the hole, I set about attempting to use an oven for the first time in well over 6 months. I like to think that the power-cut that followed was nothing to do with me overloading the mains, but it did seem to coincide precisely with when I turned the coffee maker on in preparation for post-dinner refreshments. Somehow the meal was not ruined, and was very well accepted, even if the toad in the hole was described as ‘basically sausage bread.’

 

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Travelling Errors and Basically Sausage Bread: Tuesday 11th October

  1. Haikugirl says:

    Nothing wrong with a bit of sausage bread! 😉 Hope things go better at Daiwa tomorrow…

Leave a Reply

