A Decaying Relic of Late Seventies Opulence and a Calming Influence: Friday 14th October

This afternoon I took a potter into town, via one of the increasingly infrequent buses, in order to check out the luxury Onsen of the Sun Palace hotel, which I had read so much about. There followed an hour or so spent in one of the most depressing places that I have ever visited. The hotel itself is best described as a decaying relic of late seventies opulence, with the attached Onsen and ‘water park’ doing nothing to alter this perspective. All of the slides were closed, the sauna was hermetically sealed shut, and the wave pool only seemed to be operational once I had left the damned place. The fact that I had forgotten to bring a towel did little to lift my spirits, but thankfully I found a (what I presumed to be unused) flannel, which whilst exactly ideal did at least mean that I was able to lave that depressing cast-off of a bygone time with something approaching dignity. It is safe to say that I am not planning a return visit.

Inviting, no?

This evening there was yet more madness in the Sasaki house, as I attempted to lull 4 screaming children into believing that they were ready for a good night’s sleep. Surprisingly my tactic of chasing them around the house screaming ‘My stomach is hungry and I need to eat’ didn’t seem to work, as if anything it just got them worked up into such a state that I no doubt prolonged their prospective bedtimes by at least another hour or so, for which their parents were no doubt delighted.

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

