Neurotic Post and Random Animal Pelts: Monday 17th October

In order for my visa to be correctly processed, I was required to send some signed forms to the Tokyo office as soon as possible. To this end I caught a bus to my nearest Post Office (a mere 12km away), and asked to have the papers sent by special delivery. Things were all going smoothly, and when I asked if the documents would arrive in Tokyo by tomorrow morning I was told, by the very helpful member lady that was serving me that, ‘Yes they will arrive tomorrow, unless… Unless there is a problem caused by the weather, and then they might not arrive until the day after tomorrow at best. But there’s a very small chance that will actually happen, I’m just informing you so as to let you know.’ I decided that it would probably be best not to tell her that the worst thing you can do to a neurotic is inform them of any possible dilemma, no matter how small. Still, it’s not as if I had anything better to do then sit around all day constantly monitoring the local weather conditions, wondering how a 5mph increase in general wind speed would correlate to the capability of the local postman.

The perfect gift for any animal activist.

Bizarrely, whilst there isn’t a convenience store or supermarket for a good 10km or so, there is a souvenir shop a mere 5 minutes walk (up a main road with no apparent footpath) away. And as it is getting near the end of my homestay I decided to go and have a look to see what I might find to take back to Tokyo as souvenirs. There was the usual assembly of tat and Hello Kitty products, as well as the ubiquitous ¥10000 watermelons, but nothing that really caught the eye. I was just about to leave the shop when I noticed that for only ¥18500 (~£150), I too could be the proud owner of a random animal pelt. I’m not entirely sure how the airport would feel about me transporting said cargo in my hand luggage, but I suppose that I could always post it to myself, depending on the weather of course…

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

