Apocalyptic Klaxons and Invisible Flames: Wednesday 19th October

Today’s glorious weather was deserving of a stroll, and so I decided to take the 10km round trip down to lake Touya’s North bank. Whilst the sunshine ensured that sunglasses were a necessity, the recent drop in temperature meant that I also needed to wear what Mrs. Sasaki refers to as my bear-hat, the combination of which resulted in pure satirical elegance. As I was about half way down the road to the lakeside I noticed (very perceptively) that a very loud klaxon was being sounded somewhere in the local vicinity. As I was within a few km of an active volcano it is fair to say that I fell into something of a stupor, but seeing as it stopped after a couple of minutes I continued on my way, figuring that it was either a drill or a very rapid apocalypse.

They certainly meant business.

Turns out it was a fire engine, or rather several fire engines, all racing towards the local high school. I quickly followed suit, and can happily report that no one seemed to have been injured, nor any property damaged, in fact try as I might I couldn’t actually see a single flame, or outlet of smoke. I tried to investigate further, but was put off by women in the road who kept waving at me. As she was wearing a high visibility vest AND a hat, I took this to mean that she was there in an official capacity, and not just as a useful prop to welcome Gaijin to the local educational establishment. I thus beat a hasty retreat, and merely observed from afar, as the Japanese fire brigade did a splendid job of dousing a building, which may or may not have been on fire, with large volumes of water. Hurrah!

About truehamlet

Sam is a senior lecturer in Science Communication, who researches the different ways in which media such as poetry and film can be used to communicate science to new audiences.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

